Facing A Felony OWI?
In Michigan, legislation governing penalties for drunk driving are strict. If you are arrested for operating while impaired (OWI), it is likely you will face fines and possible jail time. However, for second and subsequent arrests, penalties increase significantly.
Free In-Office Consultation
To protect your rights, your driving privileges and your freedom, you need an experienced defense lawyer to deal with these charges. At Miller & Bartnicki, P.C., we have handled many drunk driving cases throughout the state. If you have been arrested and face charges for drunk driving, second-offense drunk driving or felony drunk driving, call our attorneys immediately.
DUI Is OWI In Michigan
Operating while impaired (OWI), also known in other jurisdictions as driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), is a serious offense not to be ignored. If your blood alcohol content level (BAC) is .08 or higher, you will likely face drunk driving charges.
If you are caught driving drunk for a second time within a seven-year period, penalties become more severe. You may be required to pay fines up to $1,000, face imprisonment of at least five days, perform community service and relinquish your driver’s license.
Felony OWI Carries Severe Penalties
A third offense occurring within 10 years of two or more previous convictions introduces the possibility of a felony OWI/DUI conviction. In Michigan, a person found guilty of felony drunk driving may be liable for fines up to $5,000, loss of driving privileges, up to five years imprisonment, probation and/or community service.
With any drunk driving (OWI/DWI/DUI) arrest for single or felony OWI/DUI arrest for multiple offenses, it is imperative to obtain experienced and aggressive legal counsel immediately — especially if you were involved in an accident that caused significant harm or death to another person or to emergency response personnel.